A Driving School Bond is required for Nevada driving school operators to receive their license. The $10,000 bond must be filed with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as a guarantee that the operator’s actions will not cause monetary loss to their students.
Jet offers the Driving School Bond as financial assurance in the event that you conduct business fraudulently or negligently; buying your bond with Jet shows that you are in agreement with their mission to protect Nevada citizens from harm.
You can purchase your Driving School Bond for as little as $10 a month with Jet’s exclusive monthly payment plan. If you are inclined to purchase by the year, our rates start at $100. A soft credit check is needed to approve a rate, which will not affect your credit score. See the chart below for a preferred credit applicant’s rates for different bond terms.
|Bond Term||Monthly||1 year||2 year||3 year|
After holding a license in good standing for five consecutive years, the operator is eligible to have the bond limit reduced. The DMV can bring the limit down to no less than $5,000. Jet can offer the Driving School Bond for as low as $5 per month or $50 per year in these cases.
By clicking the button above, you will begin Jet’s simplified application process. Our application guides you through adding only the necessary information—including a social security number that is needed for a soft credit check. Once you are done with your application, you will find your approved rate that is ready to buy.
When you are making payment, you can choose to file the bond yourself or leave it to Jet. Our team will complete the license bond form and mail it to you or send it straight to the DMV. If you are filing it yourself, you must submit the original bond to:
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Occupational and Business Licensing
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711
Jet will notify you when it is time to renew your bond (except for monthly payment subscribers, who are not bound by annual renewals). All that is required of you is filling out the renewal form, whether online or by mail, and completing the payment for the new term. Jet will take care of the rest.
If you no longer have need of the surety bond, send Jet an email at email@example.com. Our team will contact the DMV to begin the 30-day cancellation process. Once those 30 days are up, we will review the time left on the bond for any potential refunds. For monthly payment bondholders, the payments will cease after the 30-day liability period.
An operator is obligated to follow the rules of the drive school license and the following statutes:
Any kind of violation of these statutes or fraudulent activity that causes damage to a student can lead to a bond claim, such as taking money from students without fulfilling the courses, missing topics of instruction, or failing to maintain vehicles used for training.
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles regularly inspects driving schools to make sure they are running according to the legislative standards. If something is not up to code, the DMV will provide written notice to allow the school operator to fix the issue. If it is not fixed, you may receive a penalty or have your driving school license suspended or revoked. Such inspections help maintain the quality and legitimacy of the driving school, and in turn, prevent bond claims. If any violations are found, there is a chance to rectify them before they cause damage to students. Failure to do right by the DMV and your students will result in a claim filing.
If you receive a claim against your bond, let Jet know as soon as possible. Our team will conduct an investigation to verify the validity of the claim. However, it is likely that the DMV has conducted an inspection and suggested disciplinary action; if this is the case, the evidence is often sufficient to support the claim.
Jet is obligated to pay restitution via the bond when a claim is found to be valid. It is paid out on your behalf and you are still liable for paying Jet back in the amount of the claim.
An operator who has a driving school branch location can operate under the same bond when the branch location is under the same ownership and school name.
A driving school operator that is privately (non-government) owned and issuing commercial driver licenses must be licensed as such and carry a Third Party Commercial Driver License Company or School Bond. The license bond has a limit between $35,000 and $175,000 as protection against fraudulent actions.