Schools that provide driver education courses to the paying public must be licensed with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). To be eligible for a license, the school owner must obtain a $10,000 Driver Education School Bond. If the school has multiple locations, a $5,000 Driver Education School Branch Location Bond will be required for each additional branch that is run by the school.
Institutions that act as course providers for driver safety schools must also be licensed with the TDLR and a $10,000 Driver Safety Course Provider Bond is required.
Jet Insurance Company provides the Driver School Bonds and the Course Provider Bond to act as a financial assurance to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation that if the licensee (school owner or course provider business) fails to reimburse students for unused course payments or not fulfilling any fees/penalty payments due to the TDLR, the appropriate surety bond may be used as restitution to cover the financial losses incurred by the damaged party.
At Jet, surety bond rates are a small fraction of the bond limit required and are based on a soft credit check of the applicant. As for the $5,000/10,000 Driver School Bonds and the $10,000 Course Provider Bond, you can purchase any of these bonds from Jet for just $100 annually or $10 a month.
|Driver Safety Course Provider Bond - $10,000||$10||$100|
|Driver Education School Bond - $10,000||$10||$100|
|Driver Education School Branch - $5,000||$10||$100|
Driver Education School Licenses and Course Provider Licenses expire annually. If you are choosing to continue your business for another year, your license will require renewal and an active bond on file.
However, if you choose Jet’s monthly payment plan, you won’t have to worry about your bond expiring or applying for renewal. Your bond will remain active as long as payments are made. Take advantage of this convenient option and click the application button above!
For-profit schools that offer driver education and training courses to new drivers or driver education instructors must be approved for a Driver Education License with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. To be eligible for operation, the driver education school owner will require a $10,000 Driver Education School Bond. If the licensee chooses to operate additional driver school branch locations then a $5,000 Driver Education School Branch Location will be required for each school managed by the licensee.
Driver safety courses are typically taken to dismiss traffic citations or for insurance discounts. Once completed and passed, the student will receive a certificate of completion. Course providers are in charge of managing instructors and schools that offer driver safety courses and also issue official completion certificates. A license with the TDLR and a $10,000 Course Provider Bond is required to take on this role.
If you are a school that offers driver safety courses only, you do not require a surety bond as you are already covered by the course provider’s bond.
Our surety bond application process is quick and easy! The application will begin by asking you for some general information such as your contact details and social security number. However, there is no need to worry. This info is used for a soft credit check that will not affect your current score.
In moments you will receive your bond rate online. Simply choose the best payment option for you, fulfill what is due, and receive a copy of your receipt and bond form instantly.
The Driver School Bond, Driver School Branch Location Bond, and the Course Provider Bond must be submitted to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation along with your initial or renewal license application. The submitted bond must be in its original form, signed, and sealed.
The required documents are to be sent to the following mailing address:
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Driver Education and Safety
PO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711
Driver school license applications can be found on the TDLR Driver Education Forms webpage and course provider license applications can be found on the Driving Safety Forms webpage.
You may cancel the bond with Jet at any time! All we ask is that you send us a written request to do so to firstname.lastname@example.org. Once received, our team will send a termination notice to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The liability of your surety bond will then be released within a 30-day period.
Monthly payment enrollees don’t have to worry about renewing their surety bond! As long as the standard payment is fulfilled each month, your bond will remain active with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
As for bondholders who purchased their bond in full and upfront, the Jet team will send you a renewal invoice by email and mail far in advance of your official expiration date. To renew, simply complete the payment due and you will be all set for another bond term. It’s that easy!
Driver education schools and driver safety course providers are expected to follow all applicable rules and regulations to their license which can be found in Title 5, Chapter 1001 of the Texas Education Code. Failure to comply may result in the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation inflicting penalties such as a loss of license, large fines, civil penalties, and/or a bond claim onto the licensee. However, the TDLR will only file a claim on a Driver School or Course Provider Bond for a number of reasons.
A claim may be filed on the Course Provider Bond if the TDLR finds that any of the course providers approved driver safety schools has failed to refund students for unused course payments. The surety bond may also be used to cover the payment of unpaid fees or penalties due by the licensee to the TDLR. If the TDLR faces any costs associated with lost course completion certificate numbers or the cancellation of certificate numbers, the bond will be used to cover these fees.
As for the Driver Education School Bond and the Driver Education School Branch Location Bond, the TDLR will typically only file a claim on either surety bond if it is found that the school has failed to reimburse students for any unused school payments.
To avoid a bond claim and likely a loss of your license, simply follow all driver education and driver safety protocols. However, if you do violate any regulations, it is in your best interest to work with the TDLR or the damaged student directly to try and resolve the problem before serious penalties ensue.
If you receive a claim notice regarding your bond from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, contact Jet immediately! We will begin the claim process by asking that you provide us with all available information and documentation regarding the claim. These details will be used for our own review and investigation of the alleged license violation.
Per the surety bond forms, Jet is legally obligated to payout justified claims up to the bond’s limit. However, payments will never exceed the amount of your bond. You, the licensee, are held responsible for your own actions and the actions of your employees. Therefore, you will be expected to reimburse Jet Insurance Company for the claim payout made on behalf of your license transgression. Failure to fulfill this obligation will result in future difficulties obtaining a surety bond in the State of Texas, especially the bonds which are required for licensure as a driver education school or driver safety course provider.