Oregon private investigators (PI) must provide the State of Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) a surety bond for at least $5,000 in order to receive a license to operate per Oregon Statute ORS Chapter 703. The bond guarantees the PI will act honestly and follow the rules and regulations surrounding their trade.
Jet has eliminated middleman brokers and agents, which dramatically simplifies the bond purchase,filing process and allows us to offer the lowest rates.
The rate for the mail agent bond starts at $100 for one year term bond. Jet has a multi year term and monthly payment option as well, giving private investigators choices that work for them.
Bond rates are based on the bonding amount required and credit check for bonds over $25,000. Above shows rates for preferred tier investigators for a sampling of bonding amounts.
Jet will file the bond directly with the DPSST. Jet will send a copy of the bond to the Private Investigator via email and in the mail.Unlike our competitors, Jet provides an efficient, speedy process to deliver the bond without any shipping charges.
The bond will be filed with:
State of Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
4190 Aumsville Hwy SE
Salem, OR 97317
With Jet as your surety company, you can pay full attention to your business and let Jet take care of the rest.
You can with Jet! Private Investigators can cancel the bond at any time and Jet will send back a prorated refund for the remaining time on the bond. Other carriers withhold “minimum earned” amounts and agencies sneak fine print in their “brokers agreements” allowing them to keep all their commissions leaving the dealer with pennies on the dollar, even if the bond was only active for a short period of time. On top of that agencies and carriers apply cancellation and reinstatement fees.
Jet’s monthly payment option makes it even easier for Private Investigators in Oregon to manage their bond. Cancel at any time and don’t worry about wasting a dime.
The DPSST requires 30 days notice before the bond is cancelled which unfortunately reduces the time remaining on the bond and therefore must be factored into the prorated refund. With Jet, if you change your mind after cancelling or you were late on a payment you won’t fall into a suspended license if addressed with Jet within that 30 day grace period.
When someone from the public complains to the DPSST about the investigator or principal make sure the complaint is responded to and satisfied as the department will investigate. It will also help to comply with the rules of the DPSST ORS 703.415 and 703.425 that were learned in training for the license.
Jet will notify you the moment we are notified of a claim by the claimant or DPSST. You will want to provide any and all related information directly related to the incident(s) as Jet only has 45 days to investigate the claim. Jet’s claim department works hard to weed out frivolous accusations and assist investigators in their defense.
If the claim is valid, Jet will immediately notify DPSST placing the dealer’s license under suspension until the dealer reimburses for the claim. Remember, Jet acts as a guarantor to DPSST that dealers will rectify any valid claims. Once the dealer provides reimbursement, Jet will immediately notify DPSST and reinstate the bond, thereby restoring the principal’s license.
If the public is harmed financially, the surety bond guarantees recompense. By involving the insurance industry, Oregon’s state government leverages the surety carriers’ financial strength and expertise in handling time consuming situations that can cause additional departmental expenses for DPSST.
While many agents and carriers require dealers to go through a cumbersome process to obtain a surety bond, including paper applications, indemnity agreements, third party premium finance applications, 24+ hour quote turnaround times, etc., getting a license bond for your dealership is easy with Jet. Click the button below, answer a few easy questions, select your terms and provide your payment information in our secure system. Jet’s website will allow you to execute your bond entirely online in about 3 minutes.
The bond doesn’t have to expire with Jet. It will stay in place at DPSST unless the principal wants to let it expire. In that case it will expire 30 days after the anniversary date.