The Commercial Driver Training School Bond is required for individuals who wish to operate a driver training school in the State of North Carolina. In order to obtain and maintain a driver training school license, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) requires either a $10,000, $20,000, or $30,000 surety bond depending on your classification.
Truck Driver Training Schools offering seminar training must secure a $10,000 bond, whereas those offering courses of instruction of 160 hours or more need a $30,000 bond. Commercial Driver Training Schools are required to purchase a $20,000 bond. The Commercial Driver Training School Bond acts as a fiscal guarantee in cases of driver training schools not complying with or carrying out their contractual obligations to past or present students. Check with the NCDMV to see which bond limit applies to your driver training school.
Jet operates as a direct surety company. We cut out middlemen brokers and agents in order to offer you low prices with a quick online application so that your bond can be ready in minutes.
Jet offers competitive rates for Commercial/Truck Driver Training School and Instructors Bonds. All rates are based on the personal credit of the driver training school licensee holder. Even though the license is good for two years at a time, the bond can be purchased monthly or annually depending on preference. Below is an example of Jet’s preferred pricing tier.
The advantage of choosing Jet includes the ability to pay for your bond on a monthly basis and avoid broker fees. Other surety companies don’t offer monthly payments and may add on fees for commission and shipping of the bond form.
Yes, Jet will take care of mailing the bond for you! An original signed and sealed bond must be on file with the NCDMV to get and maintain a driver training school license. Once all information and payment has been submitted, Jet will file the bond to the DMV on your behalf.
If you are a new driver training school applicant sending in additional required forms for a driver training school license application, Jet gives you the option to have the original bond sent to you directly. The original bond and other required license forms should then be sent to the following address:
School Bus and Traffic Safety, DMV
3117 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27697-3117
The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles is in charge of testing and regulation of commercial and truck driver licenses for the safety of the public. Because of this, the NCDMV is also in charge of overseeing local driver training school operations. The NCDMV requires the Commercial Driver Training School Bond to be in place to ensure that driver training schools and their instructors follow all rules and regulations found in the North Carolina General Statutes Article 14, Chapter 20. The bond is a fiscal guarantee in cases of the driver training school not fulfilling their contractual obligations to their students.
Commercial and truck driver training schools need to follow all rules and regulations put in place by the North Carolina DMV to remain in good standing for their license and to ensure that a bond claim will not be filed against them. These regulations are extensive and are listed out in Article 14, Chapter 20 of the North Carolina General Statutes. A few key reasons why a bond claim could be filed are listed below:
If the DMV or the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles finds you liable for any violations in accordance with the above rules and regulations pertaining to the bond, they will first contact you to address the violation. It is in your best interest to correct the violations if possible in order to avoid a bond payout, suspension/cancellation of your license, or even a Class 3 Misdemeanor charge.
It is important to note that if the Commissioner chooses to revoke or suspend your license, you will not be allowed to reapply for a license for 12 months following the date of revocation or suspension. This means the school cannot operate for a full year without a new license so it is key to follow all North Carolina driving school rules and regulations.
The DMV gives annual inspections to all commercial and truck driver training schools in North Carolina. These inspections ensue upon the DMV’s accord or if they receive a complaint from a member of the public. Complaints most often come from a past or present student of the driver training school whose contract was not carried out correctly. The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles will then proceed to further investigate the complaint and if it is proven to be justified, a claim may be filed on your bond through the DMV.
Once Jet receives official notice of a claim from the NCDMV, our team will inform you immediately. Jet does its best to protect customers from unjust bond claims and will thoroughly review and investigate the claim for validity. Because claims come from a government agency there is only so much Jet can do when facing a claim that has been validated by such an entity.
Claims proven to be valid are paid out to the damaged party, up to the bond’s full limit. The Commercial Driving School Bond holder is ultimately responsible for the driver training school and its instructors actions and must reimburse Jet for all paid out claims. Failure to do so will result in difficulties obtaining future required bonds to keep their driving school license in good standing.
Jet takes great pride in the online bond process. The application is simple and only asks for basic information such as the driver training school owner’s name, business information, and social security number. A soft credit check is completed to get a competitive approved rate in a timely manner. Once payment has been completed, Jet will send the original bond for filing to the address of your choice.
If you choose Jet’s monthly payment option, there is no need for a bond renewal. This means when your two-year license renewal rolls around, your bond is already taken care of. Jet will make sure it stays active with the NCDMV.
If you choose to make annual payments for this bond, Jet will send a renewal invoice prior to the bond’s expiration date. We do not require any extra paperwork, payment will be all that is needed!
Yes, you can cancel this bond at any time with Jet. Just provide a cancellation request (email is fine), and we will take care of contacting the NCDMV with a cancellation notice. There will be a 30-day period in which the bond will remain active following the date of the mailed request to the DMV. If the monthly payment option was chosen for this bond, Jet will still have to charge for that 30-day period due to the bond still technically being active.
Be sure to remember that the Commercial Driver Training School Bond is a requirement in order to maintain a driver training school license. If the bond is cancelled, the license will be in violation of the North Carolina General Statutes. A new bond will need to be issued if this occurs, which can be done easily with Jet, in order to keep the license active and in good standing.