All retail vehicle dealers are required to be licensed and file a $25,000 surety bond with the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles. The Vehicle Dealer Bond is a form of financial security, provided through a surety company that affords protection to the public should they experience monetary loss at the hand of a licensed dealer.
Click the button and get your bond in minutes:
The bond price is determined through a soft credit check and analyzing the dealer’s years of experience. The chart below reflects starting rates:
The monthly option allows you to operate seamlessly, not having to worry about bond renewal, as long as payments continue to go through. The annual and multi-year plans provide a discounted rate. For renewal, Jet will send you an email link where you can simply input payment information.
Several dealer types need a Vehicle Dealer Bond to be able to operate in the state of New Hampshire. All classifications listed have the same bond amount of $25,000.
Retail Vehicle Dealer: Sells 5+ vehicles in a calendar year and has a franchise.
Utility Dealer: Sells or exchanges camp or travel trailers, utility trailers, semi-trailers, boat trailers, farm equipment, tractors, construction equipment, manufactured housing, and modular buildings.
Auto Recycling Dealer: Buys secondhand vehicles to remodel, take apart, or rebuild the same, and sells vehicle parts.
Auto Wholesale Dealer: Purchases vehicles with the intent to sell to other vehicle dealers
Motorcycle Dealer: Sells 5+ motorcycles in a calendar year.
Repair dealers and Transport dealers are exempt from the surety bond requirement.
Dealers must renew their licenses by March 31 every two years on even-numbered years, e.g. 2024, 2026, 2028. If a dealer becomes licensed during an odd-numbered year, they are required to renew during the next even-numbered year, and then every two years thereafter.
As with the other 49 states, New Hampshire enforces certain requirements upon vehicle dealers to protect the public from dealer misconduct. The surety bond is just one mandate that dealers must comply with, which provides compensation to anyone who has lost money by working with a fraudulent or negligent dealer.
Things that lead to bond claims include failing to deliver a title with vehicle purchase or failing to collect fees related to vehicle registration.
To read dealer legislation, refer to New Hampshire Statutes XXI: Motor Vehicles.
To get started with the application process, click the button:
After you get through a few screens of the information required to get you a quote, you’ll be presented with monthly, annual, and multi-year payment options; choose the one that works best for you, then input your credit card information. Once the payment goes through, your bond form and receipt will be available to download.
Your bond will need to be on file with the Division of Motor Vehicles, which is located at the address below:
New Hampshire Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
If you need to cancel your bond at any time, email [email protected]. Once we notify the DMV, the bond will remain on file for 60 days before being cancelled.
We produce these bonds as Jet Insurance Services through our partnership with Lexington National Insurance Corporation.