Public weighmasters are required to file a surety bond with the Nevada Department of Agriculture as a licensing requirement. The $1,000 Public Weighmaster’s Bond is conditioned that should you engage in fraud, there is restitution available to those harmed.
The Department of Agriculture, Division of Consumer Equitability protects the marketplace and consumers by regulating the Weights and Measures Program. Jet offers the bond as a financial guarantee that the unlawful actions of public weighmasters will not cause harm to consumers.
You can buy your Public Weighmaster’s Bond with Jet at a flat rate of $100. We also offer monthly payments of $10 and multi-year terms, as shown in the chart below.
To purchase your bond, just click the button above to submit your information. You are already approved for the rates listed, so you just have to choose your term and provide payment!
Once you have paid for your bond, Jet will prepare the Public Weighmaster’s Bond for you and mail it directly to the Department of Agriculture, unless you wish to do so yourself. If you are mailing the bond, send it to:
Division of Consumer Equitability
Public Weighmaster Program
405 S 21st St
Sparks, NV 89431
Jet will send you a renewal notice when your bond term is nearing its end. Just select your new bond term and provide payment. Jet will take care of the rest.
If you no longer need the bond, just email Jet a request to cancel the Public Weighmaster’s Bond at firstname.lastname@example.org. Our team will notify the Department to begin the 30-day cancellation period. Once the 30 days have passed and the cancellation is complete, Jet will calculate the remaining time left on the bond into a refund. Please note that the first year of the bond is fully earned and is not eligible for a refund. Monthly payments will end after the 30-day liability period.
The obligations the Public Weighmaster Bond upholds are fairly straightforward: follow the provisions of your license and follow the Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 582, Sections 582.010–582.180. Essentially, following these standards will prevent you from doing illegal or fraudulent things, such as:
A violation of these statutes could not only result in a bond claim and civil penalties but a criminal penalty as well. The Department will issue a written warning if the public weighmaster unintentionally violates the statutes, but if intentional, the Department will fine the public weighmaster $25–$100 for the first violation, $50–$500 for the second, and $100–$1,000 for the third (Nevada Administrative Code 582.300). A criminal penalty in the form of jail time for six months to a year can also be assigned.
If you receive a claim filing, contact Jet right away. Our team will review the evidence to verify whether the claim is valid. If it is, we must pay up to the full $1,000 limit to absolve the damages. However, as this is a license bond and not insurance, you are still responsible for paying Jet back.