Connecticut Auto Dealer Bonds

The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, Dealers and Repairers Section requires licensed auto dealers to hold a bond. There are four main types of surety bonds for car dealers in CT: a $50,000 bond for new or used motor vehicle dealers, a $10,000 bond for motor vehicle leasing or renting companies, a $5,000 motor vehicle repairer bond, and a $5,000 motor vehicle registration issuance bond.

Click the Apply Now button above to fill out the quick application. Once your quote is prepared, you will be able to complete the purchasing process online. Both the electronic and physical copy of the original bond will be sent to you to file with your inspector.

Connecticut Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond Pricing

With Jet, being fully bonded comes easily. We work with several insurance carriers to get the lowest price possible, no matter what the bond limit is.

For new or used vehicle dealers requiring a $50,000 bond, Jet offers pricing starting at an annual price of $250 or a monthly price of $21.

Price Tier* Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
Monthly | Annual
Preferred $12 | $125
Standard $21 | $250
Credit Repair $47 | $599
Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
Price Tier
Monthly | Annual
$12 | $125
$21 | $250
Credit Repair
$47 | $599
*Pricing for the Connecticut auto dealer bond is based on many factors, as stated above. Jet’s lowest prices are shown in the above chart, but these are subject to change and not guaranteed.

How Does a Dealer Apply for a Bond?

Simply click “Apply Now” below to fill out the application online. Once submitted, Jet will provide a quote as quickly as possible based on the information provided.

Bond Applications for Connecticut

$25,000 Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

What is the Purpose of Car Dealer Bonds?

Buying a car from a dealer requires a level of trust from the buyer. They trust that the dealer is providing an honest price, with no misrepresentation of the vehicle, and that the dealer is licensed to sell vehicles.

Luckily, buyers don’t have to have blind trust when purchasing a car; surety bonds guarantee that the dealer is honest, and if they’re not, the buyer will be paid restitution.

Connecticut ensures the fiscal protection of its people by instructing dealers to carry a surety bond in order to get their business license.

How Long is a Bond Valid in Connecticut?

The State of Connecticut does not require a bond expiration date, meaning that the bonds will stay valid unless they are canceled by the surety company. Typically, the bond are offered in one-, two-, or three-year terms, depending on which surety company will hold your bond.

What To Do If a Claim is Filed Against Your Bond

A claim may be filed against your motor vehicle dealer bond if one of the following happens: selling a vehicle without a title, providing false statements related to the vehicles condition, or recording the incorrect odometer reading. These are only a few of the fraudulent activities that would cause a consumer to file a claim against a dealer’s surety bond.

If a claim is filed against your bond, and proved to be legitimate, it is important to deal with the matter immediately. Not doing so can result in a suspension of your dealer license.

The best way to avoid a claim from happening is to always act ethically while conducting business and make sure to follow all state and federal laws.