Wyoming Auto Dealer Bonds
The Wyoming Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Services has requirements in place to be a licensed dealer within the state. The bond is one of the major requirements as it is needed prior to being approved for a license. Read more below on how to apply for your bond, or get right into the application by clicking Let’s Roll.
Bonding Requirements in Wyoming.
Dealers in Wyoming are obligated to carry a bond as a form of protection for their customers. The bond will repay customers if a dealer does not follow regulations which lead to monetary loss to the customer.
Wyoming has a statewide requirement that new and used dealers, as well as manufacturers, must be bonded in the amount of $25,000.
Pricing of a Wyoming Dealer Bond.
Your cost for receiving a dealer bond will vary based on personal factors, like credit history, years in business, and other aspects. When choosing Jet, we will find the lowest price available to you.
Our dealer bond rates start at a monthly payment of $13. Our yearly payment option starts at the low rate of $150.
|Monthly | Annual|
|Preferred||$13 | $150|
|Standard||$27 | $325|
|Credit Repair||$47 | $500|
*Bonds are priced based on a multitude of factors, but primarily personal credit of the dealership owner. The chart shows the lowest rates Jet offers. These prices are not guaranteed.
What is the application process like for the bond?
The process is quick and painless. By clicking Apply Now below and submitting the application you will receive a quote shortly after submission.
|Application for Wyoming Dealers|
|$25,000 Auto Dealer Bond|
Instructions for Applying to be a Wyoming Vehicle Dealer.
- Complete the Vehicle Dealer and Manufacturer Application. New Dealers- include copies franchise agreements or dealer sales and service agreements, and fill out the bottom of page 3 with information on new vehicles
- Wyoming-based manufacturers- complete steps 1-3 and 5-8 of the application. Photos of the site and city approval for manufacturing at site are required
- Double-check the application before handing in- any incorrect or missing information will be sent back to fix errors. Make sure to include additional documents and to sign and date the application on page 4 step 7
- Obtain a Wyoming Sales and Use Tax License from the Wyoming Department of Revenue
- Submit application fee in the form of a check made out to the Wyoming Department of Transportation. Fees shown on page 4 step 6
- File for a $25,000 bond. New applicants- wait until your application is approved to file
- New applicants are subject to a criminal history background check
- License is binding for 1 year, with the bond corresponding with start/end dates. Renewal must be submitted before the expiration date
How is the Background Check Performed?
- Each owner of the business has to fill out the Wyoming Vehicle Dealer/Manufacturer License Background Check Supplemental Information Questionnaire
- Contact your local law enforcement agency for State Non-Criminal and Federal Criminal fingerprint cards. Cards must be turned in with a $39 processing fee in certified funds made out to “Attorney General- DCI”
- Check to see if fingerprints are clear and not smudged and all information is filled out. DCI will not accept missing or illegible information
- A dealer license will not be issued until background check is complete, which may take at least 30 days
- Questions or concerns can be addressed to WYDOT Compliance & Investigation (307) 777-3815